International Symposium and Chinese–Mit' 2011

The Oxygen Club of California co-sponsored this conference in Xi'an, China, which was organized by Professor Jiankang Liu from the Xi'an Jiaotong University. The conference– attended by over two hundred participants– was the 4th Chinese–Mit' meeting with a truly international character. Four distinguished Chinese scientists and members of the OCC Advisory Board were in attendance: Qi Shui Lin (Shanghai), Bao-Lu Zhao (Beijing), Quan Chen (Beijing), and Jiankang Liu (Xi'an). OCC was represented by Enrique Cadenas, who presented five awards to young investigators. You are invited to view the scientific report and program and the photos taken at the conference site. Professor Jiankang Liu Organizing Committee President


Dear OCC officers:

We really appreciate the sponsorship of OCC for the meeting: International Symposium and Chinese–Mit' 2011. The theme of the International Symposium and Chinese–Mit' 2011-Mitochondiral Medicine: From Laboratory to Clinic–aims to focus on the role mitochondrial medical research is playing in the development of clinical therapy. Thanks for the kind supports from all sponsors, including internal institutions and oversea association, such as OCC, the meeting was successfully held on April 7-10 with about 200 participants.

The symposium comprised of 2 keynote speeches by Lester packer & Qishui Lin and Enrique Cadenas, respectively, and 34 oral presentations on 4 topics, such as topic 1, Mitochondrial Metabolism and Signaling; topic 2. Mitochondria and Aging/Exercise/Stress; topic 3. Mitochondrially-Related Diseases; and topic 4. Mitochondria and Other Diseases.

As clearly noted on congress flyers, webpage ( and abstract book, the OCC sponsorship was acknowledged in all printed and web supported material. With OCC financial support, the 5 Young Investigator award were issued as well ($200/ winner). Enclosure please finds the final budget of the meeting indicating the OCC financial contribution in relation to other income and expense.

Again, thanks for the great contribution and kind sponsorship of OCC to the success of the symposium.

Professor Jiankang Liu
Organizing Committee President


OCC Awards for Young Investigators

Qi Ma, State Key Lab of Biomembrane
and Membrane Biotechnology
Xianhua Wang, Peking University
Chao Song, Tianjin University of Sport
Xuan Zou, Xi'an Jiaotong University
Jiong Yan, Xi'an Jiaotong University

Zeiss Awards for Young Investigators

Youhua Wang, Shaanxi Normal University
Zhijui Feng, Xi'an Jiaotong University
Cheng Luo, Xi'an Jiaotong University
Youfen Li, Xi'an Jiaotong University
Zhengtang Qi, East China Normal University
Yuyun Xiong, Jiangsu University
Hong Feng, Tianjin University of Sport
Tao Liu, Tianjin University of Sport
Juanjuan Zhang, Wenzhou Medical College
Yan Wang, Wenzhou Medical College
Dingxin Liu, Xi'an Jiaotong University
Fei Zhao, Tianjin University of Sport
Hongzhi Li, Wenzhou Medical College

Group Photos

  Last updated: 14 December 2014   |    Comments and Questions? e-mail us at