OXYGEN CLUB OF CALIFORNIA WORLD CONGRESS VALENCIA, SPAIN 24-26 JUNE 2015

2015 HEALTH SCIENCES PRIZE

The 2015 Health Sciences Prize is for Professor Giuseppe Poli, from the Department of Clinical and Biological Sciences at the University of Torino. Dr. Poli's distinguished career transitioned from mechanistic studies on lipid peroxidation and one of its major products, 4-hydroxynonenal, to clinically relevant pathophysiological situations, such as atherosclerosis, inflammation, liver fibrosis, and ischemic preconditioning. In 2002, Dr. Poli and collaborators initiated studies on the oxidized products of cholesterol and, at that time, their pro-atherosclerotic effects.

His publication entitled *Trojan horse-like behavior of a biologically mixture of oxysterols* initiated many mechanistic studies and cemented cholesterol oxidation as a crucial step in the induction of tissue degeneration. These studies carved a path in medicinal chemistry translating to the role of cholesterol oxidation products in vascular remodeling due to atherosclerosis, in-



Giuseppe Poli (2015 Health Sciences Prize Awardee), Jarrow Rogovin, and John Maguire

flammatory bowel disease, and more recently, Alzheimer's disease. Dr. Poli's contributions to the latter range from amplification of neuronal damage in Alzheimer's disease by the interaction of the triad consisting of 24-hydroxycholesterol, oxidative stress, and amyloid- β to the link between altered cholesterol metabolism and Alzheimer's disease to oxidized cholesterol as the driving force behind the development of Alzheimer's disease.

The Health Sciences Prize consists of a monetary reward and a beautiful bronze medal. Professor Poli joins prestigious Health Sciences Prize winners: Bharat Aggarwal (Santa Barbara, USA, in 2010), Masayuki Yamamoto and Thomas Kensler (Alba, Italy, in 2012), and Dean P. Jones and Sue-Goo Rhee (Davis, USA in 2014). Dr. Poli, congratulations and welcome.

2015 LIFETIME MEMBERS



Life Time Members Juan Sastre and João Laranjinha

Juan Sastre (University of Valencia, Spain) and João Laranjinha (University of Coimbra, Portugal) were appointed OCC Lifetime Members. A plaque commemorating the occasion was given at the conference. Both Juan Sastre and João Laranjinha together with Josiane Cillard (the 3Js) were the organizers and major driving force of OCC2015 Valencia.

YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARDS

Young Investigator Awards: Oxygen Club of California: Irene López-Fabuel, Alessandra Pecorelli, Pablo Hernansanz; Archives Biochemistry & Biophysics: Nuno R. Ferreira; Linus Pauling Institute: Unbin Chae; Society for Free Radical Research—Europe: Alberto Sanz, Markus Schosserer; Le Société Française de Recherche sur les Radicaux Libres: Eleonora Cremonini; Portuguese Biochemical Society — Oxidative Stress Group: Claudia Cirotti; Spanish Group for Research on Free Radicals: Verónica Miguel-Herranz.



Awardees OCC2015. From left to right: Joao Laranjinha, Anthony Newman, Corinne Spickett, Helmut Sies, Alessandra Pecorelli, Markus Schosserer, Verónica Miguel-Herranz, Nuno R. Ferreira, Claudia Cirotti, Alberto Sanz, Eleonora Cremonini, Juan Sastre, Irene López-Fabuel, Pablo Hernasanz, Josiane Cillard, John Maguire